New Zealand target win over Wales


2019 Rugby World Cup

Bronze Final 

Friday, 1 November 2019

Kick-off: 11h00 am 

New Zealand will battle with Wales in the 2019 Rugby World Cup Bronze final at the Tokyo Stadium on Friday.

The All Blacks succumbed to a 19-7 defeat to England in the first semi-final clash which was played last weekend.

It was their maiden defeat in this year’s competition having recorded four victories and one draw before facing England.

They are looking to secure a third-place finish in the global tournament for the third time having won the previous competition.

New Zealand flanker Sam Cane says it is important for the All Blacks to end their World Cup campaign with a victory.

“Everyone wants to finish the season on a good note and there’s still plenty to play for,” Cane said.

“And plenty of reasons to want to perform well, plenty of motivation and I’m looking forward to the game to be honest.”

Meanwhile, Wales were defeated 19-16 by South Africa in the second semi-final clash which was played last weekend.

Bet at Betway

It was their first defeat in this year’s competition having registered five victories before they took on South Africa.

They are hoping to finish third at the international tournament for the second time having been defeated in the quarter-finals in the previous competition.

The last meeting between Wales and New Zealand was on the 25th of November 2017.

New Zealand secured a 33-16 victory over Wales in the 2017 Autumn International match.

Key Match Stats


New Zealand vs Wales

Matches: 34

New Zealand wins – 31

Wales wins – 3

Draws – 0


New Zealand Starting VX: 15 Beauden Barrett, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Ryan Crotty, 12 Sonny Bill Williams, 11 Rieko Ioane, 10 Richie Mo’unga, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Kieran Read (captain), 7 Sam Cane, 6 Shannon Frizell, 5 Scott Barrett, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Joe Moody.

Substitutes: 16 Liam Coltman, 17 Atu Moli, 18 Angus Ta’avao, 19 Patrick Tuipulotu, 20 Matt Todd, 21 Brad Weber, 22 Anton Lienert-Brown, 23 Jordie Barrett.

Wales Starting XV: 15 Hallam Amos, 14 Owen Lane, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Josh Adams, 10 Rhys Patchell, 9 Tomos Williams, 8 Ross Moriarty, 7 James Davies, 6 Justin Tipuric, 5 Alun Wyn Jones (captain), 4 Adam Beard, 3 Dillon Lewis, 2 Ken Owens, 1 Nicky Smith.

Substitutes: 16 Elliot Dee, 17 Rhys Carre, 18 Wyn Jones, 19 Jake Ball, 20 Aaron Shingler, 21 Gareth Davies, 22 Dan Biggar, 23 Hadleigh Parkes.