The Bok squad facing the Blossoms


Springbok coach Rassie Erasmus has confirmed the South African Squad to play Japan in the Rugby World Cup Quarter-Final on Sunday. The squad is an overhaul of the team that played Canada with Erasmus opting to load the bench with forwards. There will be a 6-2 split between forwards and backs.

Front players starting are Tendai Mtawarira, Bongi Mbonambi and Lood de Jager all forming a strong pack. Siya Kolisi and Damian de Allende are the only two players to retain their starting position from the previous match.

Erasmus is satisfied with his team’s strength, fitness and experience but, will not underestimate Japan.

“Japan are a well-coached team and have deservedly climbed to seventh in the world rankings. It’ll be a good challenge but we’re definitely up for it.”

“We’re very fortunate in that we have a squad that has a number of highly versatile players among forwards and backs who can slot into a number of positions to cover all eventualities.”

Kick-off is at 12:15 (SA time) on Sunday.

Springbok squad

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Subs: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Franco Mostert, 21 Francois Louw, 22 Herschel Jantjies, 23 Frans Steyn,